2012 Lancashire Young Chef of the Year

3 April 2012

Marketing Lancashire (formerly Lancashire and Blackpool Tourist Board), is celebrating news that six of the Lancashire and Blackpool Tourism Award Winners 2011/12 are now going forward to the Visit England Awards for Excellence and the chance of a prestigious national award.

Lancashire has six finalists in 15 categories, the highest ever Lancashire representation in the national finals.

Tony Openshaw, Marketing Director of Marketing Lancashire said, “We are extremely proud of all our regional award-winners, who are at the forefront of Lancashire’s tourism industry. 

The six shortlisted businesses, now representing the county at national level, are exceptional ambassadors for Lancashire and are guaranteed our full and continuing support.   We wish them every success and look forward to seeing our Lancashire winners in the VisitEngland spotlight.”

The glittering Awards Ceremony will be held on 22 May 2012 at Athena, an art deco gem located in the heart of Leicester’s cultural quarter. Each of Lancashire’s finalists will receive either a Gold, Silver, Bronze or Highly Commended Award.

Commenting on the finalists James Berresford, VisitEngland’s Chief Executive said “I would like to congratulate all those nominated as VisitEngland Awards for Excellence finalists this year. This is no small achievement in a year when we have received a record number of submissions. 

“The quality of submissions this year has been outstanding and all the Lancashire finalists can justifiably take credit and pride in earning a place at the top of their category in England.  I wish everyone all the best for the final in May”. 

A full list of all categories and finalists follows (Lancashire finalists underlined):

Access for All Tourism Award

Abbey Guest House, Oxon

Great North Museum Hancock, Newcastle upon Tyne

Leeds University Storm Jameson Court, Leeds

Leicester Theatre Trust, Leicester

Sandcastle Waterpark, Blackpool

The Beacon, Cumbria

Bed & Breakfast / Guest Accommodation of the Year

Dowfold House B&B, County Durham

Meadowcroft Barn B&B, Bolton, Gtr Manchester

Pentille Castle & Estate, St Mellion, Cornwall

Roundhouse Barn Holidays, Cornwall

The Ashton, Lancaster, Lancashire

Business Tourism Award

Cotswold Conference Centre, Worcestershire

Ribby Hall Business & Conference Suite, Preston, Lancashire

The Lowry Hotel, Manchester

Yorkshire Sculpture Park, Yorkshire

Caravan Holiday Park / Holiday Village of the Year

Gwel an Mor, Cornwall

Park Cliffe Caravan & Camping Estate, Cumbria

Pinelodge Holiday/Darwin Forest, Derbyshire

Seafield Caravan Park, Northumberland

Sunset Park, Hambleton, Lancashire

Best Tourism Event of the Year

Aintree John Smiths Grand National, Liverpool, Merseyside

Bristol International Balloon Fiesta, Bristol

City Events – Polo in the Park, London

Larkin with Toads, Yorkshire

The Tall Ships, Hartlepool


Adventure Forest Go Ape, Cheshire

Cannon Hall Farm, Yorkshire

Livingstone Lodge, Port Lymphe, Kent

Severn Valley Railway, Worcestershire

Via Ferrata, Honister Slate Mine, Cumbria

Large Hotel of the Year

Bovey Castle, Devon

Rockcliffe Hall Hotel, Golf Spa Resort, County Durham

Rudding Park, Yorkshire

Trout Hotel, Cumbria


Large Visitor Attraction of the Year

Beamish Museum, County Durham

BeWILDerwood, Norfolk

Muncaster Castle, Cumbria

The Historic Dockyard, Chatham, London

Trentham Estate, Staffordshire

Outstanding Customer Service of the Year Award

Best Western Premier Leyland Hotel, Lancashire (Michael Gore)

Galvin at Windows, London (Fred Sirieix Team)

Macdonald Linden Hall Gold & Country Club, Northumberland (William Salve)

Robin Hood Camping & Caravan Park, Yorkshire (Rebecca & Damian


Ullswater Steamers, Cumbria (David Hall ‘Welsh Dave’)

Self Catering Holiday Provider of the Year

Belle Grove, Suffolk

Compton Pool Farm, Devon

Eaton Manor, Shropshire

Roundhouse Barn Holidays, Cornwall

Small Hotel of the Year

Bath Priory, Bath

Swinton Park, Yorkshire

Small Visitor Attraction of the Year

Bosworth Battlefield Heritage Centre & Country Park, Warwickshire

East Riddlesden Hall, Yorkshire

Lakeland Climbing, Cumbria

Old Holly Farm, Garstang, Lancashire

Sustainable Tourism Award

Hoe Grange, Peak District, Derbyshire

Kelling Heath, Norfolk

Ullswater Steamers, Cumbria

Wheatland Farm, Devon

Wheeldon Trees, Earl Sterndale, Peak District, Derbyshire

Taste of England Award

British Larder, Suffolk

Fischers at Baslow Hall, Derbyshire

Fodder, Yorkshire

George & Dragon, Cumbria

Opus One Restaurant & Bar, Manchester

Visitor Information Provider of the Year

Bodmin TIC, Cornwall

Chesterfield TIC, Derbyshire

Greenwich TIC, London

Harrogate TIC, Yorkshire

Manchester TIC, Manchester



Media enquiries: Anna Izza, Communications Manager, Marketing Lancashire

on 01772 426459  or [email protected]

Notes to Editors

1. Marketing Lancashire is the new name for Lancashire and Blackpool Tourist Board (from 1st April 2012)

Our activities in marketing and communications, commercial membership, `Welcome to Excellence` training and place marketing are all designed to grow the visitor economy and develop the destination as a great place to visit, live and work.

In 2010 the Lancashire attracted 60 million visitors who contributed £3.25 billion to the local economy and helped support 55,227 jobs. 

Marketing Lancashire Ltd, is a company under the control of Lancashire County Council within the meaning of Part V of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.  Marketing Lancashire Ltd. Registered Office: Christ Church Precinct, County Hall, Fishergate Hill, Preston, PR1 8XJ  Registered in England and Wales under No.05039554

Tags: News
© 2024 Marketing Lancashire