Nominations now open for HAPPA awards

8 August 2023

Every year the Horses and Ponies Protection Association (HAPPA) asks you to nominate individuals who go above and beyond for equine welfare. Nominations are now open to anyone who wishes to commend and recognise people that are passionate about improving the lives of equines that have suffered from cruelty and neglect.

Previous winner Amanda Berry (and HAPPA CO Sarah Arthur) on behalf of Carly Downs with Mona Huskie Award

A special awards ceremony will be held at the Charity’s Shores Hey Farm based in Burnley, in November, where the winners will be announced.

Sarah Arthur HAPPA Chief Executive Officer says of the Awards, “It is so important that we show appreciation for those in the equine welfare industry that deserve recognition. So often hard work and determination goes unrecognised, let’s change this by nominating those worthy winners. Making the nomination is easy and something that will certainly brighten that special person’s day.”

The Admiral Memorial Trophy is awarded to an individual that goes that extra mile for HAPPA. This is awarded annually to those who go above and beyond for HAPPA either as a volunteer, member of the public or service provider.

Previous winner Caroline Dickens, Baileys Horse Feeds with Admiral Memorial Award

The Mona Huskie Trophy is awarded in recognition to those who go that extra mile by rehoming a rescue horse. Awarded annually to those who go above and beyond in providing a home to a rescued equine. This Award is open to any HAPPA equine on any of the five rehoming schemes, or those who provide a home for an equine from another charitable organisation.

Previous winner, Tammy Marx with Ken Cranage Award






The Ken Cranage Memorial Award is open to any staff member or volunteer from any welfare organisation and nominations can be received from any member of the public, staff member or volunteer in recognition of a person who goes above and beyond to make a better life for equines.

If you know someone who fits the criteria for any of these awards, then please nominate at by 30th September 2023.

Tags: News
© 2024 Marketing Lancashire