James Morrison For Illuminations 2011

8 August 2011

Today (Friday 12 August 2011), Lancashire and Blackpool Tourist Board (LBTB) and visitBlackpool have announced the shortlist for the Lancashire and Blackpool Tourism Awards 2011/12, which will be held at the Paradise Room, Pleasure Beach Resort, Blackpool on Thursday 22 September 2011.

Over 170 hopefuls entered the 16 categories in this year’s awards. The shortlisted candidates will now progress to the next stage which involves submitting further information with mystery shopping and site visits taking place over the coming weeks. Judging by a panel of invited experts and industry professionals will follow, with the winners announced at the awards ceremony on Thursday 22 September.

The Lancashire and Blackpool Tourism Awards are the county’s premier awards; they recognise the outstanding qualities and achievements of local tourism businesses, as well as the contribution they make to Lancashire’s £3 billion visitor economy. In a change from previous awards, the winners from this year will now go directly to the national awards to compete against other destination winners for a national VisitEngland Award for Excellence.

Mike Wilkinson, LBTB’s Managing Director, commenting on the shortlist said:

“We have been delighted by the response to the tourism awards this year. Since their inception in 2004, they have grown in stature and importance and inspired an annual increase in both the quality and quantity of entries. I am confident that within this exceptional line-up we have businesses that can challenge any finalist from anywhere in the country.”

Cllr Graham Cain, Cabinet Member for Tourism and Culture at Blackpool Council, added: “Tourism is such an essential part of the resort’s economy and the awards are a great way of highlighting and rewarding the efforts that have been made over the last year. They illustrate the brilliant quality and diverse choice tourists have when visiting the resort and everyone shortlisted is of an exceptionally high standard.”

The new Making A Difference Award*, highlighting the contribution of an unsung industry hero, will be announced at the event after additional information on each shortlisted candidate has been gathered. The Tourism Event of the Year Award, voted by the public, will also be announced at the event.

The shortlist follows:

Bed & Breakfast/Guest Accommodation of the Year
The Ashton, Lancaster
Dam Head Barn, Nelson
Langtrys, Blackpool
Meadowcroft Barn B&B, Edgworth

Small Hotel of the Year
Bedford Hotel, Lytham St Annes
Best Western Mytton Fold Hotel, Langho
Briar Dene Hotel, Thornton Cleveleys
Millstone at Mellor
The Strand Hotel, Blackpool

Large Hotel of the Year sponsored by Univeristy of Central Lancashire
Big Blue Hotel, Blackpool
Elgin Hotel, Blackpool
Holiday Inn Preston
The Midland, Morecambe

Small Visitor Attraction of the Year
Burnley Mechanics Theatre, Burnley
Canal Boat Cruises, Hoghton
Old Holly Farm, Garstang
Thornton Hall Farm Country Park, Barnoldswick

Large Visitor Attraction of the Year sponsored by Burbage Holiday Group
Pleasure Beach Resort, Blackpool
Sandcastle Waterpark, Blackpool
Towneley Hall, Burnley
WWT Martin Mere Wetland Centre, Nr Ormskirk

Self Catering Award
Bronte School House, Nr Kirkby Lonsdale
Canal Boat Cruises, Hoghton
Coast Apartments, Blackpool
Martin Lane Farmhouse Holiday Cottages, Burscough

Caravan Holiday Park & Holiday Village Award sponsored by KPMG
Bay View Holiday Park, Carnforth
Carr Royd Park Ltd/Sunset Park, Hambleton
Claylands Park, Garstang
Windy Harbour Holiday Park, Poulton-le-Fylde

Business Tourism Award sponsored by Virgin Trains
Best Western Premier Leyland Hotel
The Midland, Morecambe
Pleasure Beach Resort, Blackpool
Ribby Hall Village, Wrea Green

Best Visitor Experience of the Year sponsored by Blackpool International
Grand Theatre, Blackpool
Treasure Trails Lancashire
Walkabout Theatre, The Dukes, Lancaster
WWT Martin Mere Wetland Centre, Nr Ormskirk

Outstanding Customer Service Award sponsored by Shearings Holidays
Jessica Brookes, Best Western Premier Leyland Hotel
Michael Gore, Best Western Premier Leyland Hotel
Team at Morecambe Visitor Information Centre
Management Team at Stanley House Hotel, Mellor

Taste Lancashire Award
The Midland, Morecambe
The Redwell Inn, Carnforth
Toast Cafe Bar & Grill, Blackpool
The Villa, Clitheroe
Ye Old Sparrowhawk, Burnley

Visitor Information Provider Award
Blackburn Visitor Centre
The Visit Garstang Centre
Lancaster Visitor Information Centre
Discover Pendle Centre

Sustainable Tourism Award sponsored by First Transpennine Express
Best Western Mytton Fold Hotel, Langho
Blackpool Zoo
Caldertop Cottage, Preston
Ribby Hall Village, Wrea Green

Access for All Award sponsored by Eclipse Developments
Meadowcroft Barn B&B, Edgworth
Ribble Steam Railway, Preston
Sandcastle Waterpark, Blackpool
World Horse Welfare Penny Farm, Nr Blackpool

Marketing Campaign of the Year* sponsored by Workhouse Creative Marketing
Merlin & the Legend of Arthur marketing, The Dukes, Lancaster
Opening of Brockholes, Lancashire Wildlife Trust, Preston
Pendle Walking Festival, Pendle Borough Council
Opening of Nickelodeon Land, Pleasure Beach Resort, Blackpool

* This award does not progress to the national VisitEngland Awards for Excellence.

© 2024 Marketing Lancashire